LABAs for Asthma | Cochrane Child Health Twitter Journal Club – #CochraneChild

Thanks to everyone for joining the #CochraneChild Twitter journal club on February 25th 2015. The archived discussion is at http://bit.ly/JC2Asthma

What: Twitter journal club on safety evidence for treating asthma with LABAs

When: Wednesday, February 25th, 1:00pm Vancouver | 2:00pm Edmonton & Calgary | 4:00pm Toronto | 8:00pm United Kingdom | 7:00am Thursday January 22, Melbourne, Australia

Where: Follow #CochraneChild on Twitter and join in the discussion by including #CochraneChild in all your posts. See these tips for participating in a Twitter chat.

Link to paper: The Cochrane Library and safety of regular long-acting beta2– agonists in children with asthma: an overview of reviews 

Questions we will be addressing:

1. LABAs – what are they, how do they work, and why do we use them?
2. What are the risks of using LABAs in asthma in children?
3. What is the quality of the evidence for use of LABAs in children?
4. What is the future of LABAs?

Our guest host for the journal club is Dr.Ian Sinha

Ian Sinha

Ian Sinha

Bio-sketch:

Ian is a consultant respiratory paediatrician at Alder Hey Children’s Hospital, Liverpool. His main clinical interests include asthma, cystic fibrosis, respiratory problems in children with neurodisability, and neonatal lung disease. Ian’s main research interests are around evidence based medicine, particularly with regards the selection of important outcomes in clinical trials in asthma.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s