Procedural Pain | Cochrane Child Health Twitter Journal Club – #CochraneChild

Thanks to everyone for joining the #CochraneChild Twitter journal club on April 22nd, 2015. The archived discussion is at http://bit.ly/JC4Pain

What: Twitter journal club on interventions used for pain management in non-neonatal children undergoing painful medical procedures.

When: Wednesday, April 22nd, 1:00pm Vancouver | 2:00pm Edmonton & Calgary | 4:00pm Toronto | 8:00pm United Kingdom | 7:00am Thursday March 26th, Melbourne, Australia

Where: Follow #CochraneChild on Twitter and join in the discussion by including #CochraneChild in all your posts. See these tips for participating in a Twitter chat.

Link to paper: The Cochrane Library and Procedural Pain in Children: An Overview of Reviews

Dr. Samina Ali

Dr. Samina Ali

Bio-sketch:

Dr. Ali is a pediatric emergency physician at the Stollery Children’s Hospital (Edmonton, Alberta), and an Associate Professor at the University of Alberta. She completed her medical school at McGill University (Montreal), general pediatrics residency at Memorial University (St. John’s), and pediatric emergency medicine training at McGill University (Montreal). Her research focus is pediatric pain management in the emergency department (ED), and she holds both provincial and federal funding in this area. She is the co-chair of a national knowledge translation initiative, through the Canadian Association of Paediatric Health Centres (CAPHC), to improve the community management of children’s pain. She also is currently working with TRanslating Emergency Knowledge for Kids (TREKK), in the development of pediatric pain measurement and management tools for health professionals.

Cochrane Child Health Twitter Journal Club – #CochraneChild

Thanks to everyone for joining the #CochraneChild Twitter journal club on January 21st, 2015. The archived discussion is at http://bit.ly/JC1Bronchiolitis

What: Twitter journal club on evidence for treatment of bronchiolitis

When: Wednesday, January 21, 2:00pm Vancouver | 3:00pm Edmonton & Calgary | 5:00pm Toronto | 9:00pm United Kingdom | 8:00am Thursday January 22, Melbourne, Australia

Where: Follow #CochraneChild on Twitter and join in the discussion by including #CochraneChild in all your posts. See these tips for participating in a Twitter chat.

Link to paper: http://bit.ly/1qDEf3I

Questions we will be addressing:

1) What is bronchiolitis?

2) What works (and what doesn’t), and in whom?

3) What are current controversies in this area?

Our guest host for the journal club is Dr. Ricardo M. Fernandes @DonDonRic!

Ricardo_cropped

Bio-sketch:

Dr. Fernandes is actively involved in the Cochrane Collaboration as a Director of the Child Health Field, Editorial Board member for “Evidence-based Child Health: A Cochrane Review Journal”, and scientific consultant for the Portuguese Collaborating Center of the Iberoamerican Cochrane Network.

He is also an attending pediatrician, lecturer and clinical researcher affiliated with the Department of Pediatrics, Hospital Santa Maria, and the Clinical Pharmacology Unit, Instituto de Medicina Molecular, both part of Lisbon’s Academic Medical Centre.

His research background includes clinical epidemiology, clinical trial methodology, clinimetrics and synthesis research, with training and fellowships in the Netherlands and Canada. His main clinical research interests are pediatric respiratory disease, allergy and emergency medicine, as well as methodological research in outcomes and measurement, clinical trial design, implementation and data monitoring, and meta-analysis.